Pakistan seal series with clinical win at Eden Gardens

SPECIAL: South Asia’s bitter rivals Pakistan and India are meeting again on the cricket ground, marking a gradual thaw in their decades-old rivalry. The first bilateral series between India and Pakistan since November 2007, comprising two Twenty20 matches and three one-day internationals, began on December 25, with Pakistan winning the first T20 by five wickets in a close encounter but India levelled the series with an 11-run win.

Pakistan won the first of the three ODIs in Chennai by six wickets. Team green sealed their victory by winning their second match by 85 runs in the One-Day International (ODI) series against India in Kolkata, their first win against India in an ODI series since April 2005.
Pakistan earlier intensified its bowling attack and sent five batsmen back to the Eden Gardens pavilion in 30 overs on Thursday, while the scoreboard for India stood at 102 runs.
Nasir Jamshed scored his second century of the series, racking up 106 runs in Kolkata. Mohammad Hafeez scored 76 runs.
The tourists also won the last match of the series on Sunday by six wickets in Chennai.
The Pakistani cricket team maintained an unbeaten record against India in Eden Gardens, having won all four ODIs on the ground.
The next match of the ODI series will be held on Sunday, January 6.
The India tour, the first by Pakistan since 2007, began with two Twenty20 internationals with each won by both the teams.
Pakistan: Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan
India: G Gambhir, V Sehwag, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, RA Jadeja, MS Dhoni, R Ashwin, B Kumar, I Sharma, AB Dinda

Please follow and like us: